Pretty, Pretty Dress!


DSC_0030

 

I love the look of this dress, its the Zsalya Dress from Kate and Rose Patterns.  Although it fits nicely and I have had quite a few compliments on it, next time I would go slightly smaller across the shoulders.  I’m a RTW size 14 but cut a size L, next time will go to M.

Their patterns have very good instructions, giving the option of a clean finish or a “quick and dirty” version.  I opted for the clean finish as I like garments to feel good on  the inside!  However, if I’m making a quick easy wear garment, I will often cut corners on the finish for speed!  The one thing I would mention is that their seam allowances are VERY small, if you want a larger seam allowance you will have to factor that in when cutting out, they tell you all this in the instructions.

Dress Lining

 

The trickiest bit is the neck line and facing.  I chose to do the facing/lining in a plain voile fabric and I used a seersucker type fabric for the main body that I bought from  The Fent Shop in Kings Lynn.

The sleeve has a really pretty inverted V that I forgot to take a photo of!

DSC_0031

I would like to make their Giselle and Roza patterns too but my list of projects is very looong!

I’m off to shorten my Aeolian dress now and hopefully get another one made.

Leave a Reply

