Scout Dress

dress fabric

I found this fabric at The Cloth Shop in Wood Green Market, North London.  Its a soft, draping poly mix fabric and it feels very cool on the skin, perfect for summer holidays!  I don’t know where the fabric came from but I was told “its a factory remnant from a top quality high street dress shop” and I think it could be true as it has such a lovely feel and drape.

I used the Scout Tee pattern and extended it into a dress.  My days of short dresses are over, so I made it knee length, taking the measurements from my Penelope Dress (see previous post).       dress no glSorry for the really poor image quality, it was taken by my six year old as he was rushing out the door to go swimming. dress back

 

It has a slight high/low hem, the front hits my knee and the back dips just below as is the design of the Scout Tee top.

dress neck

 

I made same fabric bias binding to finish the neckline and just top stitched it down.  You can see in this photo that it fits well across the bust and shoulders which gives it a good shape I think.

All in all, I am very pleased with this addition to my wardrobe!

 

One thought on “Scout Dress

Leave a Reply

